Thank you for supporting
Nurse of the Year - Kansas and Greater Kansas City

DATE: Saturday, November 3, 2018  |  Time: 6:00 PM
LOCATION: The Marriott Hotel
ADDRESS: 200 W. 12th Street, Kansas City, MO 64105

For more information, please contact Pam Kelley at 913-235-9851.


Still want to help us?



Hundreds of applications across the defined categories ranging from Advanced Practice to Womenn's Health are reviewed and scored by high-ranking nurse leaders. Through this competitive process, finalists within each category are then determined.

                                      The March of Dimes is proud to announce and honor
                                            the 2018 Nurse of the Year category winners.

Advanced Practice
Christine Corbett - Truman Medical Center     

Behavioral Health
Wendy Wright - Children’s Mercy
Case Management/Care Coordination
Elizabeth Harvey - The University of Kansas Health System
Clinical Educator/Academic Education
Angela Knackstedt - Children's Mercy
Critical Care
Arminda Pool - Truman Medical Center
Kylie Alwardt - Truman Medical Center
Hospice/Home Health/Palliative Care
Christina Anthony - Liberty Hospital

Intermediate Care
Anne Hager - The University of Kansas Health System
Long-Term Acute Care/Rehabilitation/Geriatrics
Oliver Perocho - The University of Kansas Health System
Grace Hageman - Shawnee Mission Health
Kimberly Cox - Stormont Vail Health
Nurse Manager
Shanon Fucik - Children’s Mercy
Nursing Informatics
Lacey Bergerhofer - Children’s Mercy

Caroline Strohm - The University of Kansas Health System
Helen Huff - Children’s Mercy

Procedural Care
Christina Crapisi - Saint Luke’s Hospital of Kansas City
Public Health/Ambulatory Care
Melissa Fowler - The University of Kansas Health System

Quality & Risk Management
Joann Paul - Saint Luke’s Health System
Rising Star
Aryial Cloughley-Gaughan - Saint Luke’s North-Barry Rd.
Rural Health/Critical Access
Maureen Kellie Baker - Western Missouri Medical Center
Surgical Services
Kathleen Glatt - Children’s Mercy
Women’s Health
Heather Scruton - Children’s Mercy




Click here for a list of the 22 categories and descriptions for the 2018 Nurse of the Year.


Thanks to the leadership of our Chair, Eva Karp, Senior Vice President, Chief Clinical and Patient Safety Officer at Cerner and the steering committee members listed below. These volunteers are taking the Nurse of the Year Awards to new heights, honoring more nurses than ever before. The March of Dimes and the families we support are grateful for the generosity and effort of these dedicated steering committee members.

Eva Karp, DHA, MBA, RN-BC, FACHE - Senior Vice President, chief Clinical and Patient Safety Officer at Cerner Corporation

Steering Committee Members
Catherine Bonderer
- BSN, RNC-OB, NE-BC - Senior Director, Mother, Child Services, North Kansas City Hospital
Tammy Peterman - MS, RN, FAAN - Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nursing Officer, The University of Kansas Health System
Chris Ruder - MS, RN, NEA-BC - Vice President, Patient Care Services & Associate Chief Nursing Officer, The University of Kansas Health System
Cheri Hunt - MHA, BSN, RN, NEA-BC - Senior Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer, Children’s Mercy
Sarah Oakley - MSN, RN, NEA-BC - Vice President & Chief Nursing Offier, North Kansas City Hospital
Debbie Wilson - MSN, RN, MSA, NEA-BC - Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City
Peggy O'Toole - MSN, APRN, NEA-BC - Administrative Director of Professional Advancement, Shawnee Mission Health
Carol Perry - MSM, BSN, RN, FACHE - Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer, Stormont-Vail Health
Jennifer Koepke - RN, MHSA, CPHQ - Vice President Patient Care Services & Chief Nursing Officer, Western Missouri Medical Center
Terry Siek - MSN, RN, NEA-BC - Vice President & Chief Nursing Officer, Hays Medical Center
Amy Peters - BSN, MBA, RN - Chief Nursing Officer, Truman Medical Center
Dr. Thad Wilson - RN, PhD, FNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP - President of Research College of Nursing
Ryan Fischer - Vice President of Business Development, Tutera Senior Living & Healthcare
Jacque Davis - RN, MSN, NE-BC - Director of the Medical/Surgical Department at Liberty Hospital
Jason Robertson - MSN, RN, CCRN, CPEN, CEN - Manager of Nursing Professional Development at Shawnee Mission Health


Through partnership with companies, organizations and individuals the March of Dimes is able to create unique moments for our clients, vendors and leadership teams to participate in a special evening, while supporting an important cause.  Sponsorship opportunities are available in a variety of levels for our Nurse of the Year event providing you with brand recognition, civic engagement and and exclusive entertainment opportunity within the event. 

We look forward to working with you to discuss your partnership with the March of Dimes.  For sponsorship information please contact Pam Kelley at 913-235-9851. 


Since 2011 the March of Dimes have been honoring nurses in Kansas and the Greater Kansas City area.  The Nurse of the Year Awards has raised more than $850,000 since 2011!

In 2018:
-- 600 Nurse of the Year Award Gala attendees  
-- 780 Nurses nominated from 43 different facilities
-- 22 Award Winners selected from 111 Nurse Finalists
-- $160,000 raised in 2018 support the March of Dimes Mission